iDB

I downloaded the Night Sky app at the beginning of this semester, before I even knew I would be taking this class. On a late night walk back from the library, my friend and I noticed an unusually bright star in the sky. Interested to find out what it was, I downloaded this app and discovered we were looking at Jupiter. The app sat unused on my home screen for quite some time until this class prompted me to reopen it. 

Inside of the app you can set your location and it will show you the night sky from wherever you are. Point the phone in different directions and the screen will display everything in the sky; planets, stars, the Moon and the Sun, rocket bodies, constellations, and more. The app also shows you the horizon line, so you are able to differentiate what is in your local sky versus what is in the sky on the opposite side of Earth. The search function is useful to pinpoint the location of any specific object you want to see in the sky. Furthermore, the app features articles and timelines all having to do with space that are interesting to look at. You can pay to unlock even more features, but I think the free version is just as fun to play around with. This app has been a really fun way to further interact with the material we’ve learned in class, I highly recommend it!


6 responses to “Night Sky App”

  1. Cameron Klein Avatar

    Wow! I love this blog post! As a matter of fact, I just downloaded the app. I just went outside and right above me is the Moon and the Auriga constellation. It also gave me some facts about the Auriga constellation: it is one of the 88 modern constellations, it’s the most prominent during the winter evenings in the Northern hemisphere, and traditional illustrations of Auriga represent it as a chariot and its driver. I’m definitely going to show all of my friends this app as soon as I see them. I’m definitely going to utilize that search function that you mentioned. What’s the coolest thing that you’ve ever seen on the app?

    Like

  2. Maddy Pollard Avatar
    Maddy Pollard

    I’m glad you’re enjoying the app! The coolest thing I’ve seen would have to be the different constellations. I think it’s really cool that the app shows pictures of how the different constellations are depicted. For example, the Taurus constellation is depicted as a giant bull in the sky!

    Like

    1. Cameron Klein Avatar

      This is actually such an amazing app. I’m loving looking at the constellations too. If you’re looking for another superb app to use, I would definitely suggest Costar. Costar is an astrology app that tells you your astrology chart and helps you understand the dynamics behind your relationships with other people…though I’m not sure if I totally believe in it. However, I recently did learn that our astrology sign was the constellation during my birthday two thousand years ago not on my actual birthday in 2005. It’s still a cool concept though. If you don’t already have it, you should definitely download it.

      Like

  3. Maddy Pollard Avatar
    Maddy Pollard

    I’ve heard of Costar before, it sounds really cool! I never really understood astrology either, but I also found it really interesting that our astrology signs now are different than they were two thousand years ago. I didn’t know that astrological signs were based on the Earth’s position in its orbit around the sun. I can’t believe that there is a 13th zodiac constellation, Ophiuchus, that falls around early December!

    Like

    1. Cameron Klein Avatar

      I know! I was totally shocked when I found that out in class too! And, get this, it falls during my brother’s birthday — December 13th! I texted him right after class. I’m a Leo (the best sign). What’s your zodiac sign?

      Like

  4. Maddy Pollard Avatar
    Maddy Pollard

    My brother is also a Leo, and I’m a Capricorn! We’re known for being loyal, disciplined, and hardworking.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started